HIM Training: Week 11

Hey, glad y’all liked my post on what dumb blondes we are!  Seriously, even my 80-year old grandmother commented on Facebook that for engineers we aren’t so smart – thanks for reminding us, Granny ;)

So the schedule was supposed to look like this with an Olympic tri to end the week:

image

But after our mishap here’s what really went down:

image

  • Swimming: 5800m
  • Running: 7 miles
  • Biking: 57 miles

Not the greatest week for distance, but I think I’m almost over my sickness.  Today (Sunday) we had fun doing a swim/bike brick.  David wanted to test how he’d feel going from the swim to the bike, since that’s the leg he’s most concerned about.  We did a 2,000m swim at Lake 288 where I smoked him.  Not really, but I came in only a couple minutes ahead of him and he was very frustrated!  Then he kicked my butt on the bike to make up for it. 

Doing the swim / bike brick was a nice change, and made me realize I need to drink lots of water before the start of a long swim – I was so thirsty during it!  I also have to watch what I’m eating / drinking on the bike – maybe a little more sports drink and an extra Gu.  Speaking of Gu, this Energy Gel Comparison article is pretty interesting.  I’m a Gu girl myself; I like a little shot of caffeine during a bike or run, and they never upset my stomach.  I’m kind of curious to try Honey Stinger.  Has anyone tried these?

About Brittany

Triathlete, Health Nut, Engineer
This entry was posted in Triathlon. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to HIM Training: Week 11

  1. Jaclyn says:

    I absolutely love Honey Stinger! I’m a member of their age group ambassadors “The Hive”. Here’s a post I did about food which includes a lot of Honey Stinger products http://runningwithmemphis.wordpress.com/2012/07/13/i-love-food/

    The waffles are great for a snack and the chews are yummy on the bike. I want to try their gels soon.

Leave a Reply

